Am I a Writer?

There are countless times I decided to keep a diary. I thought it was pretty cool to put pen to paper and let my thoughts flow, seamlessly. However, as romantic as that sounds, it was never the case for me. I used to struggle and get frustrated. I’d tear out the pages from my beautiful diary, ruining it in the process. Then I’d just chuck the whole diary away because who wants to write in a hideous, torn book?

Then I started blogging on Blogger.com, detailing every aspect of my Junior College life. I had fun doing that and it was never a problem for me to come up with something. I was always getting into trouble in JC so it was easy to narrate my daily events. And, I had a best friend who was always away on chemotherapy in India and I never wanted him to feel left out. So writing had a purpose then. I wanted him to know every detail of my life, of what I have been doing, of what he thinks he is missing out on. I wanted to keep him entertained. With an aim, writing just becomes easier.

Over the years, I have tried writing time and again. I’d source for topics, I’d attempt to write stories for local writing challenges but I have always only written something halfway and then totally stopped. I find it hard to write.

I guess that’s why I love reading. Anybody can do it. It’s easy!
I have loved reading ever since I was a child.

Image

Growing up, I had enlarged tonsils and some fluid drainage problem in my ear. As a result, my ear fluid used to collect in the wrong area, making it hard for me to hear. While this is a problem for those trying to call out to me, it was a blessing for me. I could easily shut people out (with negligible effort on my part) and tune into a book for as long as I liked. My parents had to physically shake me to get my attention.

My dad used to think I was the world’s most engrossed child, but my mum insisted there was something wrong (she was right). Anyhow, I went to the doctor’s and got everything sorted out.

But my love for reading stayed. It didn’t start then but then again it could have. I was five. I guess that’s young enough for one to cultivate the habit of and develop a love for reading.

I read Enid Blyton’s books, books by Roald Dahl. I even had the ‘Mary Kate & Ashley Phase’ because that was way cooler than Sweet Valley! I swallowed anything I could get my hands on. I wanted to know more about other things. Anything. I just loved getting lost in another world altogether. Harry Potter & The Narnia Chronicles were the next best thing I ever did in my life. I grew up just wanting books and so I have a well-stacked bookshelf with books from everywhere by everybody. I don’t have a specific genre that I love, nor a specific author. As long as I chose it and picked it out personally from a sale or a bookshop, I would read it. Truth is, as long as it is a book and it catches my attention, I’d have swallowed it.

 

Daily Post: Writing Challenge
http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/03/24/writing-challenge-reflections/

3 thoughts on “Am I a Writer?

Leave a Reply

